Grad Student Awards Presented for 2008-2009

August 31, 2009

Justin Manweiler, Prof. Jun Yang, Lirong Xia

Jeff Martin, Prof. Jun Yang

Sayan Bhattacharya, Prof. Jun Yang

Prof. Jun Yang, Sharath Raghvendra

Prof. Jun Yang, Dmytro Korzhyk

Graduate student awards for 2008-9 were presented at the annual departmental meeting. Congratulations to the recipients:

Outstanding Ph.D. Dissertation Award and Nomination for the ACM Dissertation Award
Ivelin Georgiev
Advisor: Bruce Donald
Novel Algorithms for Computational Protein Design with Applications to Enzyme Redesign and Small-Molecule Inhibitor Design

Outstanding PhD Proposal Award
Sharath Raghvendra
Advisor: Pankaj Agarwal
Geometric Summaries

Outstanding Master's Thesis Award
Jeffrey Martin
Advisor: Bruce Donald
Algorithms for Structure Determination of Symmetric Proteins from Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Data

Outstanding Research Project
Justin Manweiler
Advisor: Romit Roy Choudhury
Order Matters: Interference-Aware Transmission Reordering in Wireless Networks
Lirong Xia
Advisor: Vincent Conitzer
Voting in Multi-issue Domain
Sayan Bhattacharya (Honorable Mention)
Advisor: Kamesh Munagala
Incentive Compatible Budget Elicitation in Multi-unit Auctions

Outstanding Teaching Assistantship Award
Brittany Fasy
Course CPS 102: Discrete Mathematics
Spring 2009 with Herbert Edelsbrunner

Outstanding Departmental Service Award
Dmytro Korzhyk
In recognition of his contribution and service as Team Coach for the ACM Programming Contest which went to the World Finals in Stockholm in April

Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Assistant Award
Caleb Vandenheuval
In recognition of his overall excellence and leadership

For more information, see the graduate awards page